Popular Reads

If you’re looking for a new book to settle in with, you’ve come to the right place!

Click the links below to browse the most recent popular books.

Canadian Authors

Sleeping Giants

Longlisted Canada Reads 2017 A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.   A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she … Continue reading Sleeping Giants

Canadian Authors

Knucklehead

Longlisted  Canada Reads 2017 Ashley Rosco works as a bouncer at the only nightclub in a small town, spending his off-hours training as a bodybuilder. He occasionally acts as muscle for his best friend, Darren, a small-time drug dealer whose business is growing under the influence of his criminal father. Darren’s girlfriend, Chass, short for … Continue reading Knucklehead

Canadian Authors

even this page is white

Longlisted for Canada Reads As a writer, musician, performance artist, and filmmaker, Vivek Shraya has, over the course of the last few years, established herself as a tour de force artist of the highest order. Vivek’s body of work includes ten albums, four short films, and three books, including the YA book God Loves Hair … Continue reading even this page is white

Canadian Authors

Quantum Night

Longlisted Canada Reads 2017 Robert J. Sawyer has proven himself to be “a writer of boundless confidence and bold scientific extrapolation” (The New York Times). Now, the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author explores the thin line between good and evil that every human being is capable of crossing… Experimental psychologist Jim Marchuk has developed a … Continue reading Quantum Night

Canadian Authors

Today I Learned It Was You

Longlisted  Canada Reads 2017 When a retired actor who frequents a city park is purported to be transitioning from man to deer, municipal authorities in St. John’s, Newfoundland, find themselves confronted by an exasperatingly difficult problem. Complications mount as advocates, bureaucrats, police, and local politicians try to corral the situation, which escalates into an even … Continue reading Today I Learned It Was You

Canadian Authors

Waiting for First Light

Longlisted Canada Reads 2017 At the heart of Waiting for First Light is a no-holds-barred self-portrait of a top political and military figure whose nights are invaded by despair, but who at first light faces the day with the renewed desire to make a difference in the world. Roméo Dallaire, traumatized by witnessing genocide on … Continue reading Waiting for First Light

Canadian Authors

The Just City

Longlisted Canada Reads 2017 Here in the Just City you will become your best selves. You will learn and grow and strive to be excellent.” Created as an experiment by the time-traveling goddess Pallas Athene, the Just City is a planned community, populated by over ten thousand children and a few hundred adult teachers from … Continue reading The Just City

Bestsellers

The Woman in Cabin 10

From New York Times bestselling author of the “twisty-mystery” (Vulture) novel In a Dark, Dark Wood, comes The Woman in Cabin 10, an equally suspenseful and haunting novel from Ruth Ware—this time, set at sea. In this tightly wound, enthralling story reminiscent of Agatha Christie’s works, Lo Blacklock, a journalist who writes for a travel … Continue reading The Woman in Cabin 10

Bestsellers

Daring Greatly

The #1 New York Times bestseller. 1 million copies sold! From thought leader Dr. Brené Brown, a transformative new vision for the way we lead, love, work, parent, and educate that teaches us the power of vulnerability. “It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the … Continue reading Daring Greatly

Bestsellers

Yiddish for Pirates

Shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and nominated for the Governor-General’s Award for Literature, a hilarious, swashbuckling yet powerful tale of pirates, buried treasure and a search for the Fountain of Youth, told in the ribald, philosophical voice of a 500-year-old Jewish parrot. Set in the years around 1492, Yiddish for Pirates recounts the compelling … Continue reading Yiddish for Pirates

Bestsellers

The Alchemist

A special 25th anniversary edition of the extraordinary international bestseller, including a new Foreword by Paulo Coelho. Combining magic, mysticism, wisdom and wonder into an inspiring tale of self-discovery, The Alchemist has become a modern classic, selling millions of copies around the world and transforming the lives of countless readers across generations. Paulo Coelho’s masterpiece … Continue reading The Alchemist

Bestsellers

Firewater

A passionate call to action, Firewater examines alcohol—its history, the myths surrounding it, and its devastating impact on Indigenous people. Drawing on his years of experience as a Crown Prosecutor in Treaty 6 territory, Harold Johnson challenges readers to change the story we tell ourselves about the drink that goes by many names—booze, hooch, spirits, … Continue reading Firewater

Bestsellers

Hidden Figures

he #1 New York Times bestseller The phenomenal true story of the black female mathematicians at NASA whose calculations helped fuel some of America’s greatest achievements in space. Soon to be a major motion picture starring Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, Janelle Monae, Kirsten Dunst, and Kevin Costner. Before John Glenn orbited the earth, or … Continue reading Hidden Figures