Canadian Authors

Canada is home to some incredibly talented authors!

Check out our favorites below. Shop in store or online for the best books by Canadian Authors 

Canadian Authors

Sleeping Giants

Longlisted Canada Reads 2017 A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.   A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she … Continue reading Sleeping Giants

Canadian Authors

Knucklehead

Longlisted  Canada Reads 2017 Ashley Rosco works as a bouncer at the only nightclub in a small town, spending his off-hours training as a bodybuilder. He occasionally acts as muscle for his best friend, Darren, a small-time drug dealer whose business is growing under the influence of his criminal father. Darren’s girlfriend, Chass, short for … Continue reading Knucklehead

Canadian Authors

even this page is white

Longlisted for Canada Reads As a writer, musician, performance artist, and filmmaker, Vivek Shraya has, over the course of the last few years, established herself as a tour de force artist of the highest order. Vivek’s body of work includes ten albums, four short films, and three books, including the YA book God Loves Hair … Continue reading even this page is white

Canadian Authors

Quantum Night

Longlisted Canada Reads 2017 Robert J. Sawyer has proven himself to be “a writer of boundless confidence and bold scientific extrapolation” (The New York Times). Now, the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author explores the thin line between good and evil that every human being is capable of crossing… Experimental psychologist Jim Marchuk has developed a … Continue reading Quantum Night

Canadian Authors

Today I Learned It Was You

Longlisted  Canada Reads 2017 When a retired actor who frequents a city park is purported to be transitioning from man to deer, municipal authorities in St. John’s, Newfoundland, find themselves confronted by an exasperatingly difficult problem. Complications mount as advocates, bureaucrats, police, and local politicians try to corral the situation, which escalates into an even … Continue reading Today I Learned It Was You

Canadian Authors

Waiting for First Light

Longlisted Canada Reads 2017 At the heart of Waiting for First Light is a no-holds-barred self-portrait of a top political and military figure whose nights are invaded by despair, but who at first light faces the day with the renewed desire to make a difference in the world. Roméo Dallaire, traumatized by witnessing genocide on … Continue reading Waiting for First Light

Canadian Authors

The Just City

Longlisted Canada Reads 2017 Here in the Just City you will become your best selves. You will learn and grow and strive to be excellent.” Created as an experiment by the time-traveling goddess Pallas Athene, the Just City is a planned community, populated by over ten thousand children and a few hundred adult teachers from … Continue reading The Just City